First All-Ireland Hurling Medal

The GAA (Gaelic Athletic Association) formed in 1884. In the first 3 years of the association the clubs only played friendly matches.
In 1887, the existing country boards decided to organise a knock-out championships for the club teams within their own county. This championship was then extended to a national series of games, beginning the All-Ireland Championships which still runs today.
Only 5 teams chose to join the All-Ireland Championships in 1887; Dublin, Galway, Kilkenny, Tipperary and Wexford.
The 1887 All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Final was played between Tipperary and Galway at Birr Sportsfield, Co. Offaly on April 1st 1888 – almost 6 months after the Semi-Finals. Tipperary won the title following a 1-1 to 0-0 defeat of Galway in the final, making Tipperary the first All Ireland Hurling Champions!
An Poitin Stil houses the medal given to Tipperary in 1887.
The first All-Ireland Hurling final took place in 1887. An Poitin Stil holds the medal given to Tipperary in 1887.

Give the Gift of Hospitality This Christmas with an An Poitin Stil Gift Card.Buy Now